Press Release: For Immediate Release - Thursday 17/03/2011

ARRAN TO HOST EUROPEAN CONFERENCE ON SUSTAINABLE TOURISM

SNP MSPS WELCOME DELEGATES FROM ACROSS EUROPE

West of Scotland MSP Stewart Maxwell (SNP) has secured a conference on sustainable tourism for Arran after nominating the island to play host to a visit by an influential European Union Committee.

Mr Maxwell will be joined by local MSP Kenneth Gibson to welcome politicians from across Europe to the Isle of Arran on Monday 21st March.

Delegates from the European Committee of the Regions will gather at the Auchrannie House Hotel to discuss strategies for developing economic growth in sustainable tourism for areas of natural beauty such as Arran.

Speakers at the conference will include Martin Janosko, head of tourism for Preov, Slovakia and Carol Gleeson, project manager for the Burren Initiative in the County Clare, Ireland. They will be joined by politicians from a number of EU countries including Belgium, Poland, Romania, Italy and Lithuania.

Commenting, Stewart Maxwell MSP – a member of the European Committee of the Regions - said:

"I was delighted to get the opportunity to bring this conference here to the West of Scotland. It is important that we develop ways to promote small island communities such as Arran as top-class tourist destinations.

"The conference will do just that by bringing together regional tourism experts from across Europe to share ideas for developing a tourism strategy which benefits the local community and preserves the natural environment."

Local SNP MSP Kenneth Gibson commented:

"The natural beauty and warm hospitality offered in Arran makes it the perfect location to host the conference. Like all visitors to Arran, I know that the delegates will be made to feel very welcome by the local community."

President of the EA Group, Jerzy Zajakała added:

"It is important to examine these issues by seeing the best practices and experiences in different parts of the EU. It is only then that a policy reflective of the different communities can take shape."

NOTES FOR NEWS EDITORS:

- 1. The Committee of the Regions was established by the 1992 Treaty on European Union (Maastricht Treaty) as a consultative body in order to involve local and regional authorities (regions, cities and municipalities) in the process of Community policy-making. Its members are drawn from senior local and regional politicians from around Europe and its mission includes representing the interests and views of local authorities on Community proposals before the other institutions of the EU.
- 2. There are 4 political groups in the Committee of the Regions. The SNP is part of the European Alliance Group. Further information is available online at: www.ea.cor.europa.eu.