Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Skip Navigation LinksEPP > At Work > Commissions > ARLEM

The Euro-Mediterranean Regional and Local Assembly (ARLEM) is a permanent, joint assembly which represents the local and regional dimension in the Union for the Mediterranean (UfM).

It brings together 80 local and regional representatives from the EU and the Mediterranean partners, and ensures the participation of regional and local authorities in the Euro-Mediterranean political debate.

It also brings the territorial dimension of projects selected by the Secretariat-General of the UfM and ensures the exchange of best practices. ARLEM has observer status in the UfM and participates regularly in Senior Officials Meetings.

ARLEM is Co-Chaired by the President of the European Committee of the Regions, Markku Markkula (EPP/Finland), and the Mayor of Beit Sahour, Hani Abdelmasih Al Hayek (Palestine).  

EPP members of ARLEM include: Markku MARKKULA (Finland), Luc VAN DEN BRANDE (Belgium), Giovanni ARDIZZONE (Italy), Jacques BLANC (France), Nikola DOBROSLAVIĆ (Croatia), Pedro Antonio SÁNCHEZ LÓPEZ (Spain), Olgierd GEBLEWICZ (Poland), Luís GOMES (Portugal), Dimitrios KALOGEROPOULOS (Greece) and Eleni LOUKAIDOU (Cyprus).


 Interesting Links